Set Access Permissions for Shared Folders

2 minutes
7 months ago

Set Access Permissions for Shared Folders

Shared folder access permissions can be set for each user role as well as for individual users. If a folder is a subfolder of a first tier folder, it inherits the same permissions as the first tier folder.

The following permissions are available for shared folders:

View/Download. Users see the folders in the Shared Folders module and can download content.

Upload. Users have all View/Download privileges, as well as the ability to upload files and send notifications.

Move/Rename/Delete. Users have all View/Download/Upload privileges, as well as the ability to move, rename and delete files.

 

Perform the following steps to set access permissions for shared folders.

You must be a Project Administrator to perform this task.

To set access permissions for shared folders

If you are not already there, select Document Management > Shared Folders to open the Shared Folders module.

Select the first tier folder that you want to configure permission settings for, then right click and select Edit Permission Settings from the popup menu.

On the Shared Folders Permission Settings page, select the permission settings  for each user role and for individual users.

If you use the permissions check boxes in the user group lines (the bold role names), those settings are used for that entire user group and also for future members of that user group. For example, if all Architects have move/rename/delete privileges and you add a new architect, they will also have move/rename/delete privileges.

Click Save at the bottom of the page to save your changes.

For additional information, please see Add a Shared Folder or Edit a Shared Folder.

If this page is blank, clear your help filter to view topic content.