Return a Submittal from the Design Team

3 minutes
6 months ago

Return a Submittal from the Design Team

Returning a submittal is different from closing a submittal. Click here to read about closing a submittal.

Perform the following steps to return a submittal as a member of the design team.

To learn how to return a submittal  as a consultant, owner or other reviewer, click here.

To return a submittal as the design team

When a submittal review is complete, the design team can return the submittal to the construction team.

Click the icon next to an open submittal.

Submittals that have been returned do not have the icon. If a submittal is reopened then the return icon appears for the design team.

On the Return Submittal page, select the Review Status from the dropdown list.

Note that the section containing the Review Status only appears for members of the design team. It is not available to contractor user roles. Project Administrators can configure the list of available review statuses.

 

Add any other information as needed. Scroll to the bottom of the Return Submittal page and select Return or Return with Notification.

Once the submittal is returned the editing functionality is removed and the review comments from the design team become available to all users.

 

To return a submittal as a consultant, owner or other reviewer

Some submittals require review and input from multiple consultants. When returning a submittal, only the design team lead can determine the final review status of the submittal. This prevents conflicting review statuses being returned to the construction team.

Click the icon next to the submittal you want to return to the design team lead.

On the Return Submittal page, add any review comments and attachments as needed.

Click Return at the bottom of the page to return the submittal to the design team lead.

Email Notifications

When a consultant or owner reviewer returns the submittal, the software automatically sends a notification to the design team. The Submittals module configuration determines whether an email is sent for every consultant review or only when all consultant review comments are received. Click here for more information on configuring email notifications.

When returning a submittal to the contractor an email is automatically sent to the contractor user role that sent the submittal to the design team. All other users must be manually selected or included in the auto-notify feature on the module configuration page.

If this page is blank, clear your help filter to view topic content.