Reopen an RFI

2 minutes
6 months ago

Reopen an RFI

In most cases, it is not recommended to reopen an RFI. Once reopened, the design team has the ability to alter their original comments and if the contractor has proceeded based on those comments, it can become problematic.

You must be a Project Administrator to reopen an RFI.

To reopen an RFI

Scroll down and select Reopen RFI on the View RFI page.

This button is only visible on returned and closed RFIs.

What Happens When an RFI is Reopened?

When an RFI is returned from the design team to the construction team, editing rights are removed for all user roles. Deactivating these tools prevents users from inadvertently making changes to the returned RFI.

Reopening the RFI changes the status of the RFI from Returned to Open and the RFI is time-stamped.

Reopening the RFI reactivates the review tools for the design team and consultants.

Existing markups cannot be edited or deleted.

If an RFI is a contractor draft and it is closed it cannot be reopened as a draft. If the RFI is reopened, it moves to the Open state, which means the design team sees it and the contractor cannot edit it.

If this page is blank, clear your help filter to view topic content.